Groundwater Management Area 1

Who we are...

The Groundwater Management Area 1 was established in 2002. The Texas Water Development Board created 16 Groundwater Management Areas across Texas, each with a number of groundwater conservation districts included within their boundaries.  GMA 1 consists of the following: 

GMA 1 includes 18 counties: Armstrong, Carson, Dallam, Donley, Gray, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, and Wheeler.

The map below displays the boundaries of GMA 1 and all or part of the corresponding water district service areas. 

What we do...

The Groundwater Management Area 1 was created in order to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, and to control subsidence caused by withdrawal of water from those groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, consistent with the objectives of Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution.

The GMA 1 accomplishes their goal of ensuring the most efficient use and management of groundwater resources by conducting Joint Groundwater Planning with the relevant water districts. Their primary responsibility throughout the joint planning process is to establish desired future conditions for the aquifers within the planning area. Read more about desired future conditions here

Major aquifers within GMA 1 include the Ogallala and Seymour. Minor aquifers include Blaine, Dockum, and Rita Blanca. 

Map of Major Aquifers in GMA 1

GMA1_MajorAquifer (1).pdf

Map of Minor Aquifers in GMA 1


The 2016 Summary of Desired Future Conditions is now available. View the summary and past Joint Groundwater Planning documents here